Each year on October 12, the Day of the Races of Man, the Advocates for Religious Rights and Freedoms holds an annual Human Spiritual Rights Celebration sponsored by the International Community of Christ, Church of the Second Advent. The program of these celebrations contains awards presentations, musical presentations and speeches by Advocates and invited speakers, and enshrinements of individuals noted for their support of Human Spiritual Rights.

The persons nominated by the Advocates for enshrinement at the Monument to Human Spiritual Rights are approved by a Selection Panel established in 1989.

Modern Figures Enshrined:

  • 1990: Mohandas Gandhi (1869-1948)
  • 1991: Pierre Teilhard de Chardin (1881-1955)
  • 1991: Kahlil Gibran (1883-1931)
  • 1993: Nikola Tesla (1856-1943)
  • 1994: Gustaf Stromberg (1882-1962)
  • 1995: Carl G. Jung (1875-1961)
  • 1996: Alfred Russel Wallace (1823-1913)
  • 1998: Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)
  • 1999: Martin Luther King, Jr. (1929-1968)
  • 2000: Ralph Waldo Emerson (1803-1882)
  • 2001: Joseph Campbell (1904-1987)
  • 2002: R.H. Charles (1855-1931)
  • 2002: Theodor Gaster (1906-1992)
  • 2002: Jacquetta Hawkes (1910-1966)

Holy Figures Enshrined:

These and many other pioneer leaders and thinkers of diverse backgrounds, inspired by a higher calling, have endeavored in their lives to bring to the world a greater appreciation, if not an understanding, of the mystery that is the human spirit. In honoring them, the Advocates not only remember their acts, thoughts, and works but also pay tribute to their legacy, which is the quest for spiritual freedom. In our own evolvement towards spiritual liberation, we must dedicate ourselves in fellowship to the preservation and perpetuation of our God-granted heritage.

...back to the ARRF home page